Who We Are

Since 1953, DC Gas has delivered clean, safe, and efficient natural gas to its customers in DeKalb, Cherokee, and Etowah Counties.  Our service area network continues to grow daily.

In 1953, the community leaders of Fort Payne, Collinsville, and Centre joined forces to establish the DeKalb-Cherokee Counties Gas District. With 0 customers, and $0 revenue, approximately $2 million was borrowed in 1953 to construct the initial DC Gas System in these three towns.  That is the approximate equivalent of borrowing over $25 million today.  In 1960-1961, two expansions were constructed; the first into Cedar Bluff from Centre, and the second onto Sand Mountain covering Crossville, Geraldine, Fyffe, Rainsville, and Powell.  After the 1960-1961 expansions were completed, DC Gas served approximately 3,000 customers, and the service area could not significantly expand due to capacity limitations from the pipeline.

In 1996, the leaders of DC Gas took on, at the time, one of the largest public works projects ever in Northeast Alabama.  DC Gas borrowed over $15 million to construct and install an additional connection to the Southern Natural Pipeline.  This project tripled the transportation capacity, and quickly doubled the number of customers that DC Gas was able to serve to approximately 6,000.  Numerous expansions have occurred since that time, but on a significantly lesser scale.  Today, DC Gas owns and operates approximately 750 miles of gas main, and serves approximately 8,000 customers.

Through vision, innovation, and commitment to the communities we serve, DC Gas was formed and constructed when investor-owned utilities did not consider our communities to be profitable for investment. This innovation and commitment has continued to grow the network of our service area to the surrounding communities.

DC Gas is committed to providing our customers the peace of mind that safe, clean, and reliable natural gas will continue to meet their energy needs for years to come.

Alabama Natural Gas Association